Useful Websites

The Arts Current Events Genealogy Internet Reference
Books & Literature Education Government Law St. Tammany Parish
Business & Finance Family & Parenting Grants & Financial Assistance Libraries Science & Technology
Careers & Employment Food & Nutrition Health & Medicine Louisiana Social Sciences
Consumer Information Gardening History Recreation & Sports Travel














The Arts: (See also Louisiana Sources on the Web)

All Music Guide     http://www.allmusic.com/

The Artchive     http://www.artchive.com/

Artnet     http://www.artnet.com/

Vitruvio.ch     http://www.vitruvio.ch/

WebMuseum     http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/

Return to top

Books & Literature:

BookMuse     http://www.bookmuse.com/

BookPage     http://www.bookpage.com/

Documenting the American South     http://docsouth.unc.edu/

Online Literary Criticism Collection     http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Project Gutenberg     http://promo.net/pg/

ReadingGroupGuides.com     http://www.readinggroupguides.com/

Writer's Digest     http://www.writersdigest.com/

Return to top

Business & Finance:

Big Charts     http://www.bigcharts.com
stock quotes, investing, industry news

Hoover's Online     http://www.hoovers.com/
company information

Small Business Association     http://www.sba.gov/
starting and financing a business

SmartMoney.com     http://www.smartmoney.com/
money management, stock news, financial advice

Thomas Register of American Maunfacturers     http://www.thomasregister.com/
companies and products manufactured in North America

Return to top

Careers & Employment: (See also Louisiana Sources on the Web)

America's JobBank     http://www.ajb.dni.us/

CareerBuilder     http://www.careerbuilder.com/

Occupational Outlook Handbook     http://www.bls.gov/oco/

Monster.com     http://monster.com/

USAJobs     http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/

Return to top

Consumer Information:

Bankrate.com     http://www.bankrate.com/
interest rate comparisions

Consumer Protection     http://www.ftc.gov/ftc/consumer.htm
identity theft, senior's issues, telemarketing

Edmunds     http://www.edmunds.com/
car prices, reviews, comparisons, safety, dealer locator

Federal Consumer Information Center     http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/
scams and frauds, product recalls, consumer action handbook

NADAguides.com     http://www.nadaguides.com/
pricing guide for cars, motorcycles, RVs, airplanes, manufactured housing

National Fraud Information Center     http://www.fraud.org/
fraud alert, telemarketing and Internet fraud, report a fraud

Return to top

Current Events:

BBC     http://news.bbc.co.uk/

CNN.com     http://www.cnn.com/

MSNBC     http://www.msnbc.com/

PBS Online NewsHour     http://www.pbs.org/newshour/

Reuters.com     http://www.reuters.com/

Return to top


AskERIC     http://ericir.syr.edu/
resource collection, question archive, lesson plans, ERIC database

ACT     http://www.act.org/
registration, test centers, sample questions

FAFSA Online     http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/
application for college financial aid from the federal government

FinAid!     http://www.finaid.org/
loans, scholarships, and financial aid for college

Peterson's Education Center     http://www.petersons.com/
summer programs, prep. schools, colleges and universities, graduate study

Return to top

Family & Parenting:

Adopting.org     http://www.adopting.org/

Family Education.com     http://www.familyeducation.com/

KidsGrowth.com     http://www.kidsgrowth.com/

WholeFamily.com     http://www.wholefamily.com/

Return to top

Food & Nutrition:

All Recipes     http://www.allrecipes.com/

American Dietetic Association     http://www.eatright.org/

Epicurious Food     http://eat.epicurious.com/

Food & Drug Administration     http://www.fda.gov/

Recipe Source     http://www.recipesource.com/

Veggies Unite!     http://www.vegweb.com/

Return to top


Garden Guides     http://www.gardenguides.com/
gardening articles, tips and techniques

Gardenweb     http://www.gardenweb.com/
gardening tips, plant databases, botanical terms

Louisiana Lawn and Garden     http://www.louisianalawnandgarden.org/
horticulture hints, events, gardening tips

NeoFlora     http://www.neoflora.com/
searchable database of plant including descriptions, characteristics and care tips

Return to top

Government: (See also Louisiana Sources on the Web)

Code of Federal Regulations     http://www.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/index.html

Federal Register     http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/index.html

FirstGov     http://www.firstgov.gov/
gateway to official government web sites

IRS     http://www.irs.gov/
tax forms and publications, tax laws

Social Security Online Services    http://www.socialsecurity.gov

Thomas Legislative Information     http://thomas.loc.gov/
representatives and senators, congressional committees, bills

Return to top

Grants & Financial Assistance:

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance     http://www.cfda.gov/

Federal Student Aid     http://www.ed.gov/studentaid/

Foundation Center     http://fdncenter.org/

GuideStar    http://www.guidestar.org/

Return to top


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention     http://www.cdc.gov/

Healthfinder     http://www.healthfinder.gov/

MayoClinic.com     http://www.mayoclinic.com/

MedlinePlus     http://medlineplus.gov

National Institutes of Health     http://www.nih.gov/

National Women's Health Information Center     http://www.4women.gov/

YourSurgery.com     http://www.yoursurgery.com/

Return to top


American Memory Collection     http://memory.loc.gov/
primary source materials from the Library of Congress

Core Documents of U.S. Democracy     http://www.gpoaccess.gov/coredocs.html
United States documents from the 1700s to the present

U.S. Civil War Center     http://www.cwc.lsu.edu/
resources, links, cemetery database

Return to top


Finding Information on the Internet     http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/FindInfo.html

Internet Society http://www.isoc.org/
history of the Internet, news, standards and protocols

Search Engines:
Altavista     http://www.altavista.com/

Google     http://www.google.com/

Search Engine Watch     http://searchenginewatch.com/

Return to top

Law: (See also Louisiana Sources on the Web)

AllLaw.com     http://www.alllaw.com/
organizations, federal and state resources, forms, legal support services

FindLaw     http://www.findlaw.com/
forms, cases, federal and state codes, business law, public law, legal careers

Martindale.com     http://www.martindale.com/
lawyer locator

NOLO     http://www.nolo.com/
legal encyclopedia and dictionary, legal research center

United States Code     http://www4.law.cornell.edu/uscode/
online searchable version of the U.S. Code

Return to top

Libraries: (See also Louisiana Sources on the Web)

American Library Association     http://www.ala.org/

Internet Public Library     http://www.ipl.org/

Library of Congress     http://www.loc.gov/

Return to top

Recreation & Sports:

ESPN     http://msn.espn.go.com/

GORP (Great Outdoor Recreation Pages)     http://www.gorp.com/

SportingNews.com     http://www.sportingnews.com/

U.S. National Parks     http://www.us-national-parks.net/

Wildernet     http://www.wildernet.com/

Return to top

Science & Technology:

How Stuff Works     http://www.howstuffworks.com/
explanations, diagrams, web links

Math Forum at Drexel University     http://mathforum.org/
Ask Dr. Math, resources by subject, Internet math library

Science and Technology Resources     http://www.scitechresources.gov/
Index to U.S. government science and technology web sites

Science NetLinks http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/ http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/
web resources, lessons for educators

Return to top

Social Sciences:

Public Agenda Online     http://www.publicagenda.org/

Psychology Information Online     http://psychologyinfo.com/

Sociology Central     http://www.sociology.org.uk/

Return to top


Bureau of Consular Affairs     http://travel.state.gov/

Fodors.com     http://www.fodors.com/

Lonely Planet     http://www.lonelyplanet.com/

Mapquest     http://www.mapquest.com/

Rick Steves     http://www.ricksteves.com/

Return to top

Last updated 3/4/2010
Copyright © St. Tammany Parish Library
All Rights Reserved.
Unofficial and external sites are not endorsed by the St. Tammany Parish Library.

Last updated 8/14/2006.
Copyright © St. Tammany Parish Library
All Rights Reserved.
Unofficial and external sites are not endorsed by the St. Tammany Parish Library.